Return to Headlines


{September 14, 2022} ARNOLD, MO – One Fox High School senior, Ella Stone, and two Seckman High School seniors, Ryan Bradshaw and Kurtis Schmidt, have been recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. One of the primary indicators for this recognition is the student’s score on the PSAT exam taken junior year.

“The PSAT is an important test for many reasons,” said Dr. Tammy Cardona, Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Education. “Not only does it provide us with valuable information about our students’ academic strengths and needs, but it also helps with securing merit-based scholarships and allows students to predict how well they would do in advanced placement courses.  We are extremely proud to have our students gain National Merit Recognition, it’s a testament to their hard work and a reflection of the commitment to academic excellence by our teachers.”

These three students were selected from over 1,600,000 entrants and then determined to be among the 16,000 high-scoring participants nationwide - that’s the top 1% of all US students who participated in the test.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Please join us in congratulating Ella, Ryan, and Kurtis for this remarkable achievement!

For the latest news, information, and updates, follow the district on Twitter @FoxC6Schools or Facebook and bookmark the website


The Fox C-6 School District is an award winning National District of Character serving over 11,000 students in Jefferson County, Missouri.